DPA: Daily Physical Activity

A slice of exercise for the Slice of Life Story Challenge: Day 29.

Often times, I feel guilty having students sitting for the longest time because they need to finish an assigned task. Meanwhile, as a teacher, I like to move around. When attending workshops, I need to have some caffeine boost especially if it’s happening after work and I know I will be sitting down for a minimum of 2 hours.

Kids are the same way. They want to move around. Some of them need more space than others. One or two would need that extra room on the carpet when the whole class is there. I had one student who would be moving from one spot to another during this time but he’s all attentive to what’s happening. As a whole class, we learned that it’s what he needed. We gave that to him.

Four years ago, I made a compilation of dance songs in a CD. Of course, one of them was Cha Cha Slide. Now, there are more resources that are available for us to use in our classroom. As long as we have the internet connection, they are available for use anytime. They are more up-to-date too. Here are the links that I use that the kids love.

I am getting better at allowing frequent breaks in the classroom reminding myself that exercise is good for the heart as well as the mind.

 

10 thoughts on “DPA: Daily Physical Activity

  1. romeolitcoach

    I love brain breaks! I even make picking out a brain break a reward for earning positive behavior points. I haven’t tried cosmic yoga- I’ll try it out. Re-engaging students is powerful, and the students need this to keep going!

    Reply
  2. Katie Suomi (@MrsSuomi)

    This is the first year that I have done structured brain breaks in the classroom. I have always allowed my students to move around the room, but never gave a time for a brain break. We do a Just Dance song every day mid morning. I can totally see a difference in them after they have the opportunity to move around. Great post!

    Reply
    1. Vilma Manahan Post author

      Now that I have been blogging for a month, I need to get up my chair every now and then especially when I am stuck. Then, I come back and have something new to add to my writing. I can see that with your students as well.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: The Last Slice Of March | An (Almost) Connected Educator

Leave a Reply

